Greek Style Stuffed Chicken

27 May

If you are a fan of Greek style food, you will love this recipe. It is so good, and so easy to make. I paired my chicken with a Greek salad and garlic buttered pasta. Don’t be fooled by the picture, the chicken may not look good but it tastes amazing.  The recipe does call for pine nuts, and I haven’t been able to find them anywhere, so I didn’t use them in my version. I am a big fan of garlic and the flavor it adds to pretty much anything, so I almost always use more than any recipe says to.

Recipe from Men’s Health Magazine

Greek-Style Stuffed Chicken

2 5–6 oz chicken breasts
2 Tbsp chopped sun-dried tomatoes
2 Tbsp crumbled feta cheese
2 Tbsp chopped olives
1 tsp minced garlic
1 Tbsp pine nuts
1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
Extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 450°F. Toss together the tomatoes, feta cheese, olives, garlic, pine nuts, and vinegar.

2. Rub the chicken with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Using a small, sharp knife, carefully cut a slit along the thick part of each chicken breast, creating a pocket. Add enough stuffing to fill each pocket and transfer the chicken to a baking sheet.

3. Bake for 15 minutes. Top with any remaining stuffing. Makes 2 servings

Per serving (including sides) 680 calories, 65 g protein, 51 g carbs, 23 g fat (5 g saturated), 4 g fiber, 910 mg sodium

Greek Salad

Romaine lettuce
Black olives
Feta Cheese
Chopped onion
Olive oil
Lemon juice
Garlic salt
Salt/Pepper

This salad is really easy to make, you pretty much just mix everything together in a big bowl. The only difficult part is that my grandmother taught me how to make this salad, so I don’t have any measurements for it at all. So, if you want to try it all I can say is use very little olive oil, lots of onions and when you add the garlic salt and the lemon juice, go a little at a time and taste it in between.

2 Responses to “Greek Style Stuffed Chicken”

  1. Aunt Nancy May 28, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    You can find pine nuts in a few places. SAM’S has them as does Publix. I recommend though that you check out the section in either Publix or WalMart than has Hispanic seasonings. You can usually get small amounts of random seasonings/spices in little bags for less than a dollar. I think I have seen pine nuts there too. 🙂

    • 365recipeproject May 28, 2011 at 12:41 am #

      I’ll have to look again…I couldn’t find them at publix when I went shopping, but maybe I missed them. It’s hard to be super observant with the baby 🙂

Leave a Reply

