Gonzo Chicken Salad

26 May

This salad was so filling! There really isn’t much to it so I didn’t know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. It was light in taste, but the chick peas made it very satisfying. The salad would also be excellent on a sub or pita. My husband and I both thought the same thing while eating it. I’m not sure what it is about the flavor, but it really would be an awesome sandwich. My only suggestion to anyone wanting to make this recipe, though, is to stick to the amount of chick peas the recipe calls for. I just used the can that I had and the salad was just swimming in them. Sometimes less really is more. 🙂

Recipe from Men’s Health Magazine

**I did not use pecans, though the recipe does call for them.

Gonzo Chicken Salad

2 cups bagged mixed salad greens
1 cup baby spinach
1/3 cup rinsed chickpeas
1/2 cup diced precooked chicken
1 tsp chopped pecans
1 scallion, sliced
3 slices avocado
2 tsp olive oil
1 1/2 tsp balsamic or red-wine vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Mix the greens and spinach, chickpeas, chicken, nuts, and scallion together in a bowl.

2. Top with the avocado, oil, vinegar, and salt and pepper. Makes 1 serving

Per serving 420 calories, 30 g protein, 27 g carbs, 23 g fat (2 g saturated), 9 g fiber, 799 mg sodium

Leave a Reply

